The T-Word

Teenagers. The period of your life where puberty hits you and everyone around you like a train going at full speed. And I’m not talking about normal trains, I’m talking about bullet trains because once they hit you, you either come out with just an arm or leg missing or you get injured so badly that you get surgery, which will transform your whole life for the good or for the worse. By saying surgery, I mean a major event that may happen suddenly or gradually in your life that potentially changes your life and the way you view it. That was a really bad metaphor but creativity runs short for me so it’s the best I got (insert nervous laughter). But why are teenagers so misunderstood? Is it because of our ages or is it because of how we act? From my point of view, I blame the older generation. Sorry guys…

*(I have no idea where that comparison came from but I’ll just stick with it cause it makes me seem more hipster?)


There are stereotypes and then there are stereotypes for teenagers, most of which I feel are forced upon us by society (a.k.a. the adults and social media). Life is great, don’t get me wrong. There’s no stress on having to pay the bills, I don’t have to worry about getting fired from my job, I get an allowance and I have freedom to do whatever the hell I want (as long as it’s within certain limits because safety first guys!).Life is good. Well, kind of. Looking back and hearing stories from various friends and family, I’ve concluded that life is definitely harder for this generation’s high schoolers. I don’t know about other countries but the level of difficulty in passing yr12 for Australians has definitely raised. With a fast-growing nation, competition for university places is fierce. And this is where the stereotypes come in. For example, if you study and try hard to ace tests, you’re automatically qualified as a nerd or dork but if you don’t care, barely managed to pass and are popular, you’re suddenly lumped into the “blonde cheerleader squad”, even if you aren’t blonde.

I don’t know about other countries but the level of difficulty in passing yr12 for Australians has definitely raised. With a fast-growing nation, competition for university places is fierce. And this is where the stereotypes come in. For example, if you study and try hard to ace tests, you’re automatically qualified as a nerd or dork but if you don’t care, barely managed to pass and are popular, you’re suddenly lumped into the “blonde cheerleader squad”, even if you aren’t blonde. And if you’re Asain, expectations are set high. Depending on where you go, some will automatically assume that you’re good at maths and that you have absolutely no idea on pop culture or some crap like that. This is from my experiences but if you’ve never had that treatment then you are one lucky bastard. Jelly~

The reason to why I blame the adults for the stereotypes is because it had to originate from somewhere right? Things aren’t just magically created (unless you’re a genie then go ahead and ignore this section). I’m sorry for being blunt but stereotypes for teenagers were created because of you guys. I’m sorry but back in those days, teenagers weren’t as smart as they are now. Why? Because we have access to the internet and social media. Although it might make us smarter, we, unfortunately, have to grow up much faster. Yes, many of us still do stupid crap still but we’re going through puberty. Raging hormones and doing stupid stuff are just too compatible. We might seem more out of control as the previous generation but that’s only because we tend to document every moment in our lives on the internet for everyone to see, including those very idiotic moments that will make you regret life when looking back.


Thank-you so much for reading this little rant! I still have heaps to complain talk about on the topics of teenagers. Like if you’d like a continuation of this and I will deliver. Anyways, comment below on your experiences as a teenager and once again, thanks for reading! Cheerio!

Cheerio!

Love Lucy xoxo

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. That was such a fantastic post and I totally agree! I wish stereotypes weren’t so prevalent, becthen people could get to know the people behind the stereotypes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

